Skip to content

Green is the New Tinsel

February 15, 2010

Going green may not be the glitziest fashion in Tinseltown, but Jason Mraz did manage to ignite our hearts with his sustainable fashion get-up, although I don’t think the same can be said for the carpets at the Grammy Awards.

Here’s what he has to say:

“If there was ever a place I dared to go where people actually cared what I was wearing, it is the red carpet at the Grammy Awards. Last year I enjoyed the fresh fitted look of a Prada suit and received a “best dressed” nod in the New York Times.
The Verdict: Stylish – Yes. Inspiring – Not really.

So this year I enlisted the help of Bahar Shahpar, an expert in sustainable fashion, to find out what alternatives I had on this night of nights. The result was an Eco-Tux – a suit made fair (for earth and earthlings alike) in every step of the manufacturing process

The Suit is EcoGir from Simon Carter, made of recycled polyester (consisting of 25 plastic water bottles) & wool. The best part is you can just throw it in the washing machine.

The Beautiful Lapel Pin is a symbol of marriage equality; A silver fist – a common symbol for civil rights. No other union serves to protect your loved ones as strongly as marriage does and I’m tired of my gay friends in long-term, loving relationships being denied the same freedoms I have. Gays & Lesbians are still treated as second-class citizens and that sucks.

The certified organic cotton dress shirt is by Culturata. This Italian company relies on old world tailoring – hand crafting shirts with modern innovative fabrics.

The Osborn Design Shoes were my lady-killers for sure. Hand crafted in Guatemala, these Fair-Trade shoes are one of a kind. Osborn works with the artisans directly. Each pair is signed and numbered by the cobbler.

The belt by Parabellum (unseen) was Reservation Bison – made after the beast had passed naturally of course.

The Sonic Fabric tie was the icing on the cake. Made out of recycled cassette tapes, I fed it into my tape deck after the show and listened in homage to last year’s nominees, still trying to figure out what Viva La Vida is about…

Everything I wore to the Grammys was intended to transform the bling-typical scene into a place of new possibility – where everyone can be a winner. I imagine my suit offsets the 12 pounds of Grammy I’ll be receiving in the mail soon – thus making my overall experience a carbon neutral one.
Final Verdict: Stylish – Yes. Inspiring – Yes!”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Vibhuti Agrawal permalink
    February 15, 2010 9:56 am

    Hi,

    I want to get in touch with the author of this blog. Request you to provide me his / her email id or any other contact details.

    With warm regards,
    Vibhuti

  2. Mellow permalink*
    February 15, 2010 3:29 pm

    Hi Vibhuti,

    This blog is the result of many passionate young persons like myself. Please email eco-singapore-youth-delegation-to-cop-15@googlegroups.com should you wish to address the entire team.

    Thanks

    Mel

Leave a Reply

